Commit 2e3ca40f authored by Pavel Tatashin's avatar Pavel Tatashin Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: relax deferred struct page requirements

There is no need to have ARCH_SUPPORTS_DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT, as all
the page initialization code is in common code.

Also, there is no need to depend on MEMORY_HOTPLUG, as initialization
code does not really use hotplug memory functionality.  So, we can
remove this requirement as well.

This patch allows to use deferred struct page initialization on all
platforms with memblock allocator.

Tested on x86, arm64, and sparc.  Also, verified that code compiles on
PPC with CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG disabled.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171117014601.31606-1-pasha.tatashin@oracle.comSigned-off-by: default avatarPavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>	[s390]
Reviewed-by: default avatarKhalid Aziz <khalid.aziz@oracle.com>
Acked-by: default avatarMichael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Steven Sistare <steven.sistare@oracle.com>
Cc: Daniel Jordan <daniel.m.jordan@oracle.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Reza Arbab <arbab@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent a85f878b
......@@ -151,7 +151,6 @@ config PPC
select ARCH_MIGHT_HAVE_PC_PARPORT
select ARCH_MIGHT_HAVE_PC_SERIO
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_ATOMIC_RMW
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT
select ARCH_USE_BUILTIN_BSWAP
select ARCH_USE_CMPXCHG_LOCKREF if PPC64
select ARCH_WANT_IPC_PARSE_VERSION
......
......@@ -108,7 +108,6 @@ config S390
select ARCH_INLINE_WRITE_UNLOCK_IRQRESTORE
select ARCH_SAVE_PAGE_KEYS if HIBERNATION
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_ATOMIC_RMW
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_NUMA_BALANCING
select ARCH_USE_BUILTIN_BSWAP
select ARCH_USE_CMPXCHG_LOCKREF
......
......@@ -69,7 +69,6 @@ config X86
select ARCH_MIGHT_HAVE_PC_PARPORT
select ARCH_MIGHT_HAVE_PC_SERIO
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_ATOMIC_RMW
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT
select ARCH_SUPPORTS_NUMA_BALANCING if X86_64
select ARCH_USE_BUILTIN_BSWAP
select ARCH_USE_QUEUED_RWLOCKS
......
......@@ -639,15 +639,10 @@ config MAX_STACK_SIZE_MB
A sane initial value is 80 MB.
# For architectures that support deferred memory initialisation
config ARCH_SUPPORTS_DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT
bool
config DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT
bool "Defer initialisation of struct pages to kthreads"
default n
depends on ARCH_SUPPORTS_DEFERRED_STRUCT_PAGE_INIT
depends on NO_BOOTMEM && MEMORY_HOTPLUG
depends on NO_BOOTMEM
depends on !FLATMEM
help
Ordinarily all struct pages are initialised during early boot in a
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment