Commit bd4171a5 authored by Alexander Duyck's avatar Alexander Duyck Committed by Linus Torvalds

igb: update code to better handle incrementing page count

Update the driver code so that we do bulk updates of the page reference
count instead of just incrementing it by one reference at a time.  The
advantage to doing this is that we cut down on atomic operations and
this in turn should give us a slight improvement in cycles per packet.
In addition if we eventually move this over to using build_skb the gains
will be more noticeable.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20161110113616.76501.17072.stgit@ahduyck-blue-test.jf.intel.comSigned-off-by: 's avatarAlexander Duyck <alexander.h.duyck@intel.com>
Acked-by: 's avatarJeff Kirsher <jeffrey.t.kirsher@intel.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Cc: Hans-Christian Noren Egtvedt <egtvedt@samfundet.no>
Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
Cc: James Hogan <james.hogan@imgtec.com>
Cc: Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>
Cc: Keguang Zhang <keguang.zhang@gmail.com>
Cc: Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com>
Cc: Mark Salter <msalter@redhat.com>
Cc: Max Filippov <jcmvbkbc@gmail.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
Cc: Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>
Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
Cc: Steven Miao <realmz6@gmail.com>
Cc: Tobias Klauser <tklauser@distanz.ch>
Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 5be59554
......@@ -210,7 +210,12 @@ struct igb_tx_buffer {
struct igb_rx_buffer {
dma_addr_t dma;
struct page *page;
unsigned int page_offset;
#if (BITS_PER_LONG > 32) || (PAGE_SIZE >= 65536)
__u32 page_offset;
#else
__u16 page_offset;
#endif
__u16 pagecnt_bias;
};
struct igb_tx_queue_stats {
......
......@@ -3962,7 +3962,8 @@ static void igb_clean_rx_ring(struct igb_ring *rx_ring)
PAGE_SIZE,
DMA_FROM_DEVICE,
DMA_ATTR_SKIP_CPU_SYNC);
__free_page(buffer_info->page);
__page_frag_drain(buffer_info->page, 0,
buffer_info->pagecnt_bias);
buffer_info->page = NULL;
}
......@@ -6834,13 +6835,15 @@ static bool igb_can_reuse_rx_page(struct igb_rx_buffer *rx_buffer,
struct page *page,
unsigned int truesize)
{
unsigned int pagecnt_bias = rx_buffer->pagecnt_bias--;
/* avoid re-using remote pages */
if (unlikely(igb_page_is_reserved(page)))
return false;
#if (PAGE_SIZE < 8192)
/* if we are only owner of page we can reuse it */
if (unlikely(page_count(page) != 1))
if (unlikely(page_ref_count(page) != pagecnt_bias))
return false;
/* flip page offset to other buffer */
......@@ -6853,10 +6856,14 @@ static bool igb_can_reuse_rx_page(struct igb_rx_buffer *rx_buffer,
return false;
#endif
/* Even if we own the page, we are not allowed to use atomic_set()
* This would break get_page_unless_zero() users.
/* If we have drained the page fragment pool we need to update
* the pagecnt_bias and page count so that we fully restock the
* number of references the driver holds.
*/
page_ref_inc(page);
if (unlikely(pagecnt_bias == 1)) {
page_ref_add(page, USHRT_MAX);
rx_buffer->pagecnt_bias = USHRT_MAX;
}
return true;
}
......@@ -6908,7 +6915,6 @@ static bool igb_add_rx_frag(struct igb_ring *rx_ring,
return true;
/* this page cannot be reused so discard it */
__free_page(page);
return false;
}
......@@ -6979,10 +6985,13 @@ static struct sk_buff *igb_fetch_rx_buffer(struct igb_ring *rx_ring,
/* hand second half of page back to the ring */
igb_reuse_rx_page(rx_ring, rx_buffer);
} else {
/* we are not reusing the buffer so unmap it */
/* We are not reusing the buffer so unmap it and free
* any references we are holding to it
*/
dma_unmap_page_attrs(rx_ring->dev, rx_buffer->dma,
PAGE_SIZE, DMA_FROM_DEVICE,
DMA_ATTR_SKIP_CPU_SYNC);
__page_frag_drain(page, 0, rx_buffer->pagecnt_bias);
}
/* clear contents of rx_buffer */
......@@ -7256,6 +7265,7 @@ static bool igb_alloc_mapped_page(struct igb_ring *rx_ring,
bi->dma = dma;
bi->page = page;
bi->page_offset = 0;
bi->pagecnt_bias = 1;
return true;
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment