• David Hildenbrand's avatar
    docs/core-api: memory-hotplug: add some details about locking internals · 3a7452c5
    David Hildenbrand authored
    Let's document the magic a bit, especially why device_hotplug_lock is
    required when adding/removing memory and how it all play together with
    requests to online/offline memory from user space.
    
    [ rppt: moved the text to Documentation/core-api/memory-hotplug.rst ]
    
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180925091457.28651-7-david@redhat.comSigned-off-by: 's avatarDavid Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
    Reviewed-by: 's avatarPavel Tatashin <pavel.tatashin@microsoft.com>
    Reviewed-by: 's avatarRashmica Gupta <rashmica.g@gmail.com>
    Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
    Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
    Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
    Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
    Cc: Haiyang Zhang <haiyangz@microsoft.com>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: John Allen <jallen@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
    Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
    Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>
    Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
    Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org>
    Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
    Cc: Michael Neuling <mikey@neuling.org>
    Cc: Nathan Fontenot <nfont@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
    Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
    Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
    Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
    Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
    Cc: Stephen Hemminger <sthemmin@microsoft.com>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
    Cc: YASUAKI ISHIMATSU <yasu.isimatu@gmail.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarMike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarJonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    3a7452c5
memory-hotplug.rst 4.7 KB