Commit d23a61ee authored by Tetsuo Handa's avatar Tetsuo Handa Committed by Linus Torvalds

fs, elf: don't complain MAP_FIXED_NOREPLACE unless -EEXIST error

Commit 4ed28639 ("fs, elf: drop MAP_FIXED usage from elf_map") is
printing spurious messages under memory pressure due to map_addr == -ENOMEM.

 9794 (a.out): Uhuuh, elf segment at 00007f2e34738000(fffffffffffffff4) requested but the memory is mapped already
 14104 (a.out): Uhuuh, elf segment at 00007f34fd76c000(fffffffffffffff4) requested but the memory is mapped already
 16843 (a.out): Uhuuh, elf segment at 00007f930ecc7000(fffffffffffffff4) requested but the memory is mapped already

Complain only if -EEXIST, and use %px for printing the address.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/201804182307.FAC17665.SFMOFJVFtHOLOQ@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp
Fixes: 4ed28639 ("fs, elf: drop MAP_FIXED usage from elf_map") is
Signed-off-by: default avatarTetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@I-love.SAKURA.ne.jp>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Andrei Vagin <avagin@openvz.org>
Cc: Khalid Aziz <khalid.aziz@oracle.com>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Abdul Haleem <abdhalee@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Joel Stanley <joel@jms.id.au>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent a841aa83
......@@ -377,10 +377,10 @@ static unsigned long elf_map(struct file *filep, unsigned long addr,
} else
map_addr = vm_mmap(filep, addr, size, prot, type, off);
if ((type & MAP_FIXED_NOREPLACE) && BAD_ADDR(map_addr))
pr_info("%d (%s): Uhuuh, elf segment at %p requested but the memory is mapped already\n",
task_pid_nr(current), current->comm,
(void *)addr);
if ((type & MAP_FIXED_NOREPLACE) &&
PTR_ERR((void *)map_addr) == -EEXIST)
pr_info("%d (%s): Uhuuh, elf segment at %px requested but the memory is mapped already\n",
task_pid_nr(current), current->comm, (void *)addr);
return(map_addr);
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment