• Will Deacon's avatar
    Documentation: Use "while" instead of "whilst" · 806654a9
    Will Deacon authored
    Whilst making an unrelated change to some Documentation, Linus sayeth:
    
      | Afaik, even in Britain, "whilst" is unusual and considered more
      | formal, and "while" is the common word.
      |
      | [...]
      |
      | Can we just admit that we work with computers, and we don't need to
      | use þe eald Englisc spelling of words that most of the world never
      | uses?
    
    dictionary.com refers to the word as "Chiefly British", which is
    probably an undesirable attribute for technical documentation.
    
    Replace all occurrences under Documentation/ with "while".
    
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: Liam Girdwood <lgirdwood@gmail.com>
    Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
    Cc: Michael Halcrow <mhalcrow@google.com>
    Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    Reported-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarWill Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarJonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    806654a9
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
cpu-cooling-api.txt Loading commit data...
exynos_thermal Loading commit data...
exynos_thermal_emulation Loading commit data...
intel_powerclamp.txt Loading commit data...
nouveau_thermal Loading commit data...
power_allocator.txt Loading commit data...
sysfs-api.txt Loading commit data...
x86_pkg_temperature_thermal Loading commit data...