Commit f2863ff3 authored by Nikita Kiryanov's avatar Nikita Kiryanov Committed by Stefano Babic
Browse files

arm: imx: make bmode command work with SPL/U-Boot combo



The bmode command forces the SoC to use a specific boot device
by writing its boot mode into SRC_GPR9, and notifying the SoC of
the change using SRC_GPR10[28] bit: if the bit is on, bootROM
uses the value in SRC_GPR9 instead of SRC_SMBR1 to determine
the boot device.

SPL on the other hand is oblivious to this distinction, so once
the bootROM loads SPL from the device configured in SRC_GPR10,
SPL will attempt to load U-Boot from the device configured in
SRC_SMBR1, which is not updated by the bootROM to the value in
SRC_GPR9.

The result is that the selected boot device is not used across all
the boot stages.

Update spl_boot_device() to look at gpr9 when necessary.
Signed-off-by: default avatarNikita Kiryanov <nikita@compulab.co.il>
Cc: Stefano Babic <sbabic@denx.de>
Cc: Troy Kisky <troy.kisky@boundarydevices.com>
Cc: Tim Harvey <tharvey@gateworks.com>
Cc: Eric Nelson <eric.nelson@boundarydevices.com>
Cc: Fabio Estevam <fabio.estevam@freescale.com>
Cc: Heiko Schocher <hs@denx.de>
parent 63f7af9a
......@@ -350,8 +350,8 @@ void boot_mode_apply(unsigned cfg_val)
/*
* cfg_val will be used for
* Boot_cfg4[7:0]:Boot_cfg3[7:0]:Boot_cfg2[7:0]:Boot_cfg1[7:0]
* After reset, if GPR10[28] is 1, ROM will copy GPR9[25:0]
* to SBMR1, which will determine the boot device.
* After reset, if GPR10[28] is 1, ROM will use GPR9[25:0]
* instead of SBMR1 to determine the boot device.
*/
const struct boot_mode soc_boot_modes[] = {
{"normal", MAKE_CFGVAL(0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00)},
......
......@@ -14,11 +14,12 @@
#include <spl.h>
#if defined(CONFIG_MX6)
/* determine boot device from SRC_SBMR1 register (BOOT_CFG[4:1]) */
/* determine boot device from SRC_SBMR1 (BOOT_CFG[4:1]) or SRC_GPR9 register */
u32 spl_boot_device(void)
{
struct src *psrc = (struct src *)SRC_BASE_ADDR;
unsigned reg = readl(&psrc->sbmr1);
unsigned int gpr10_boot = readl(&psrc->gpr10) & (1 << 28);
unsigned reg = gpr10_boot ? readl(&psrc->gpr9) : readl(&psrc->sbmr1);
/* BOOT_CFG1[7:4] - see IMX6DQRM Table 8-8 */
switch ((reg & 0x000000FF) >> 4) {
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment