1. 07 Feb, 2014 1 commit
    • Alexey Brodkin's avatar
      net/designware - switch driver to phylib usage · 92a190aa
      Alexey Brodkin authored
      
      
      With this change driver will benefit from existing phylib and thus
      custom phy functionality implemented in the driver will go away:
       * Instantiation of the driver is now much shorter - 2 parameters
      instead of 4.
       * Simplified phy management/functoinality in driver is replaced with
      rich functionality of phylib.
       * Support of custom phy initialization is now done with existing
      "board_phy_config".
      
      Note that after this change some previously used config options
      (driver-specific PHY configuration) will be obsolete and they are simply
      substituted with similar options of phylib.
      
      For example:
       * CONFIG_DW_AUTONEG - no need in this one. Autonegotiation is enabled
      by default.
       * CONFIG_DW_SEARCH_PHY - if one wants to specify attached phy
      explicitly CONFIG_PHY_ADDR board config option has to be used, otherwise
      automatically the first discovered on MDIO bus phy will be used
      
      I believe there's no need now in "doc/README.designware_eth" because
      user only needs to instantiate the driver with "designware_initialize"
      whose prototype exists in "include/netdev.h".
      
      Cc: Joe Hershberger <joe.hershberger@ni.com>
      Cc: Vipin Kumar <vipin.kumar@st.com>
      Cc: Stefan Roese <sr@denx.de>
      Cc: Mischa Jonker <mjonker@synopsys.com>
      Cc: Shiraz Hashim <shiraz.hashim@st.com>
      Cc: Albert ARIBAUD <albert.u.boot@aribaud.net>
      Cc: Amit Virdi <amit.virdi@st.com>
      Cc: Sonic Zhang <sonic.zhang@analog.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAlexey Brodkin <abrodkin@synopsys.com>
      92a190aa
  2. 13 May, 2013 4 commits
  3. 04 Mar, 2013 2 commits