Commit 7608a43d authored by Davidlohr Bueso's avatar Davidlohr Bueso Committed by Ingo Molnar
Browse files

locking/mutexes: Use MUTEX_SPIN_ON_OWNER when appropriate

4badad35

 ("locking/mutex: Disable optimistic spinning on some
architectures") added a ARCH_SUPPORTS_ATOMIC_RMW flag to
disable the mutex optimistic feature on specific archs.

Because CONFIG_MUTEX_SPIN_ON_OWNER only depended on DEBUG and
SMP, it was ok to have the ->owner field conditional a bit
flexible. However by adding a new variable to the matter,
we can waste space with the unused field, ie: CONFIG_SMP &&
(!CONFIG_MUTEX_SPIN_ON_OWNER && !CONFIG_DEBUG_MUTEX).
Signed-off-by: default avatarDavidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com>
Acked-by: default avatarJason Low <jason.low2@hp.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: aswin@hp.com
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <davidlohr@hp.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Jason Low <jason.low2@hp.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1406752916-3341-5-git-send-email-davidlohr@hp.com

Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 76916515
......@@ -52,7 +52,7 @@ struct mutex {
atomic_t count;
spinlock_t wait_lock;
struct list_head wait_list;
#if defined(CONFIG_DEBUG_MUTEXES) || defined(CONFIG_SMP)
#if defined(CONFIG_DEBUG_MUTEXES) || defined(CONFIG_MUTEX_SPIN_ON_OWNER)
struct task_struct *owner;
#endif
#ifdef CONFIG_MUTEX_SPIN_ON_OWNER
......
......@@ -16,7 +16,7 @@
#define mutex_remove_waiter(lock, waiter, ti) \
__list_del((waiter)->list.prev, (waiter)->list.next)
#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
#ifdef CONFIG_MUTEX_SPIN_ON_OWNER
static inline void mutex_set_owner(struct mutex *lock)
{
lock->owner = current;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment