Commit 72b03fcd authored by Shakeel Butt's avatar Shakeel Butt Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm: mlock: remove lru_add_drain_all()

lru_add_drain_all() is not required by mlock() and it will drain
everything that has been cached at the time mlock is called.  And that
is not really related to the memory which will be faulted in (and
cached) and mlocked by the syscall itself.

If anything lru_add_drain_all() should be called _after_ pages have been
mlocked and faulted in but even that is not strictly needed because
those pages would get to the appropriate LRUs lazily during the reclaim
path.  Moreover follow_page_pte (gup) will drain the local pcp LRU
cache.

On larger machines the overhead of lru_add_drain_all() in mlock() can be
significant when mlocking data already in memory.  We have observed high
latency in mlock() due to lru_add_drain_all() when the users were
mlocking in memory tmpfs files.

[mhocko@suse.com: changelog fix]
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171019222507.2894-1-shakeelb@google.comSigned-off-by: 's avatarShakeel Butt <shakeelb@google.com>
Acked-by: 's avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Acked-by: 's avatarBalbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>
Acked-by: 's avatarVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Yisheng Xie <xieyisheng1@huawei.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Greg Thelen <gthelen@google.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 4518085e
......@@ -670,8 +670,6 @@ static __must_check int do_mlock(unsigned long start, size_t len, vm_flags_t fla
if (!can_do_mlock())
return -EPERM;
lru_add_drain_all(); /* flush pagevec */
len = PAGE_ALIGN(len + (offset_in_page(start)));
start &= PAGE_MASK;
......@@ -798,9 +796,6 @@ SYSCALL_DEFINE1(mlockall, int, flags)
if (!can_do_mlock())
return -EPERM;
if (flags & MCL_CURRENT)
lru_add_drain_all(); /* flush pagevec */
lock_limit = rlimit(RLIMIT_MEMLOCK);
lock_limit >>= PAGE_SHIFT;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment