Commit 9f318e3f authored by Hidehiro Kawai's avatar Hidehiro Kawai Committed by Thomas Gleixner

Documentation: Document kernel.panic_on_io_nmi sysctl

kernel.panic_on_io_nmi sysctl was introduced by commit

  5211a242 ("x86: Add sysctl to allow panic on IOCK NMI error")

but its documentation is missing. So, add it.
Signed-off-by: default avatarHidehiro Kawai <hidehiro.kawai.ez@hitachi.com>
Requested-by: default avatarBorislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@ezchip.com>
Cc: Don Zickus <dzickus@redhat.com>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Heinrich Schuchardt <xypron.glpk@gmx.de>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: kexec@lists.infradead.org
Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Manfred Spraul <manfred@colorfullife.com>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <masami.hiramatsu.pt@hitachi.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Nicolas Iooss <nicolas.iooss_linux@m4x.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Seth Jennings <sjenning@redhat.com>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Ulrich Obergfell <uobergfe@redhat.com>
Cc: Vivek Goyal <vgoyal@redhat.com>
Cc: x86-ml <x86@kernel.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20151210014637.25437.71903.stgit@softrsSigned-off-by: default avatarBorislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
parent b279d67d
......@@ -551,6 +551,21 @@ the recommended setting is 60.
==============================================================
panic_on_io_nmi:
Controls the kernel's behavior when a CPU receives an NMI caused by
an IO error.
0: try to continue operation (default)
1: panic immediately. The IO error triggered an NMI. This indicates a
serious system condition which could result in IO data corruption.
Rather than continuing, panicking might be a better choice. Some
servers issue this sort of NMI when the dump button is pushed,
and you can use this option to take a crash dump.
==============================================================
panic_on_oops:
Controls the kernel's behaviour when an oops or BUG is encountered.
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment