Commit b33e18f6 authored by Tejun Heo's avatar Tejun Heo Committed by Ingo Molnar

fs/writeback, rcu: Don't use list_entry_rcu() for pointer offsetting in bdi_split_work_to_wbs()

bdi_split_work_to_wbs() uses list_for_each_entry_rcu_continue()
to walk @bdi->wb_list.  To set up the initial iteration
condition, it uses list_entry_rcu() to calculate the entry
pointer corresponding to the list head; however, this isn't an
actual RCU dereference and using list_entry_rcu() for it ended
up breaking a proposed list_entry_rcu() change because it was
feeding an non-lvalue pointer into the macro.

Don't use the RCU variant for simple pointer offsetting.  Use
list_entry() instead.
Reported-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarTejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Cc: Darren Hart <dvhart@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Dipankar Sarma <dipankar@in.ibm.com>
Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
Cc: Lai Jiangshan <jiangshanlai@gmail.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Cc: Patrick Marlier <patrick.marlier@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: pranith kumar <bobby.prani@gmail.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20151027051939.GA19355@mtj.duckdns.orgSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent e4340bbb
......@@ -779,8 +779,8 @@ static void bdi_split_work_to_wbs(struct backing_dev_info *bdi,
bool skip_if_busy)
{
struct bdi_writeback *last_wb = NULL;
struct bdi_writeback *wb = list_entry_rcu(&bdi->wb_list,
struct bdi_writeback, bdi_node);
struct bdi_writeback *wb = list_entry(&bdi->wb_list,
struct bdi_writeback, bdi_node);
might_sleep();
restart:
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment