Commit f06bdd40 authored by Thomas Garnier's avatar Thomas Garnier Committed by Ingo Molnar

x86/mm: Adapt MODULES_END based on fixmap section size

This patch aligns MODULES_END to the beginning of the fixmap section.
It optimizes the space available for both sections. The address is
pre-computed based on the number of pages required by the fixmap
section.

It will allow GDT remapping in the fixmap section. The current
MODULES_END static address does not provide enough space for the kernel
to support a large number of processors.
Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Garnier <thgarnie@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Potapenko <glider@google.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Chris Wilson <chris@chris-wilson.co.uk>
Cc: Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Jiri Kosina <jikos@kernel.org>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <joro@8bytes.org>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Len Brown <len.brown@intel.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@gmail.com>
Cc: Luis R . Rodriguez <mcgrof@kernel.org>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@redhat.com>
Cc: Rafael J . Wysocki <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>
Cc: Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>
Cc: kasan-dev@googlegroups.com
Cc: kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com
Cc: kvm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: lguest@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: linux-doc@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-mm@kvack.org
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: xen-devel@lists.xenproject.org
Cc: zijun_hu <zijun_hu@htc.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170314170508.100882-1-thgarnie@google.com
[ Small build fix. ]
Signed-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent e13b73dd
......@@ -19,7 +19,7 @@ ffffff0000000000 - ffffff7fffffffff (=39 bits) %esp fixup stacks
ffffffef00000000 - fffffffeffffffff (=64 GB) EFI region mapping space
... unused hole ...
ffffffff80000000 - ffffffff9fffffff (=512 MB) kernel text mapping, from phys 0
ffffffffa0000000 - ffffffffff5fffff (=1526 MB) module mapping space
ffffffffa0000000 - ffffffffff5fffff (=1526 MB) module mapping space (variable)
ffffffffff600000 - ffffffffffdfffff (=8 MB) vsyscalls
ffffffffffe00000 - ffffffffffffffff (=2 MB) unused hole
......@@ -39,6 +39,9 @@ memory window (this size is arbitrary, it can be raised later if needed).
The mappings are not part of any other kernel PGD and are only available
during EFI runtime calls.
The module mapping space size changes based on the CONFIG requirements for the
following fixmap section.
Note that if CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_MEMORY is enabled, the direct mapping of all
physical memory, vmalloc/ioremap space and virtual memory map are randomized.
Their order is preserved but their base will be offset early at boot time.
......
......@@ -68,7 +68,8 @@ typedef struct { pteval_t pte; } pte_t;
#endif /* CONFIG_RANDOMIZE_MEMORY */
#define VMALLOC_END (VMALLOC_START + _AC((VMALLOC_SIZE_TB << 40) - 1, UL))
#define MODULES_VADDR (__START_KERNEL_map + KERNEL_IMAGE_SIZE)
#define MODULES_END _AC(0xffffffffff000000, UL)
/* The module sections ends with the start of the fixmap */
#define MODULES_END __fix_to_virt(__end_of_fixed_addresses + 1)
#define MODULES_LEN (MODULES_END - MODULES_VADDR)
#define ESPFIX_PGD_ENTRY _AC(-2, UL)
#define ESPFIX_BASE_ADDR (ESPFIX_PGD_ENTRY << PGDIR_SHIFT)
......
......@@ -35,6 +35,7 @@
#include <asm/page.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/setup.h>
#include <asm/fixmap.h>
#if 0
#define DEBUGP(fmt, ...) \
......
......@@ -20,6 +20,7 @@
#include <asm/kasan.h>
#include <asm/pgtable.h>
#include <asm/fixmap.h>
/*
* The dumper groups pagetable entries of the same type into one, and for
......
......@@ -9,6 +9,7 @@
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
#include <asm/sections.h>
#include <asm/fixmap.h>
extern pgd_t early_level4_pgt[PTRS_PER_PGD];
extern struct range pfn_mapped[E820_X_MAX];
......
......@@ -36,6 +36,10 @@
#include <asm/tlbflush.h>
#include <asm/shmparam.h>
#ifdef CONFIG_X86
# include <asm/fixmap.h>
#endif
#include "internal.h"
struct vfree_deferred {
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment