1. 04 Jan, 2017 3 commits
  2. 28 Apr, 2016 1 commit
  3. 14 Jul, 2015 1 commit
  4. 22 Jun, 2015 1 commit
  5. 26 Sep, 2013 1 commit
  6. 13 Jan, 2011 1 commit
  7. 18 Jun, 2009 1 commit
    • Rodolfo Giometti's avatar
      LinuxPPS: core support · eae9d2ba
      Rodolfo Giometti authored
      This patch adds the kernel side of the PPS support currently named
      "LinuxPPS".
      
      PPS means "pulse per second" and a PPS source is just a device which
      provides a high precision signal each second so that an application can
      use it to adjust system clock time.
      
      Common use is the combination of the NTPD as userland program with a GPS
      receiver as PPS source to obtain a wallclock-time with sub-millisecond
      synchronisation to UTC.
      
      To obtain this goal the userland programs shoud use the PPS API
      specification (RFC 2783 - Pulse-Per-Second API for UNIX-like Operating
      Systems, Version 1.0) which in part is implemented by this patch.  It
      provides a set of chars devices, one per PPS source, which can be used to
      get the time signal.  The RFC's functions can be implemented by accessing
      to these char devices.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRodolfo Giometti <giometti@linux.it>
      Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Randy Dunlap <randy.dunlap@oracle.com>
      Cc: Kay Sievers <kay.sievers@vrfy.org>
      Acked-by: default avatarAlan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
      Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@googlemail.com>
      Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      eae9d2ba