Commit 383203ef authored by Tycho Andersen's avatar Tycho Andersen Committed by James Morris
Browse files

dh key: get rid of stack allocated array

We're interested in getting rid of all of the stack allocated arrays in the
kernel: https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/3/7/621



This particular vla is used as a temporary output buffer in case there is
too much hash output for the destination buffer. Instead, let's just
allocate a buffer that's big enough initially, but only copy back to
userspace the amount that was originally asked for.

v2: allocate enough in the original output buffer vs creating a temporary
    output buffer
Signed-off-by: default avatarTycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>
Reviewed-by: default avatarKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
CC: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
CC: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
CC: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>
CC: Eric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarJames Morris <james.morris@microsoft.com>
parent a964f395
......@@ -183,24 +183,13 @@ static int kdf_ctr(struct kdf_sdesc *sdesc, const u8 *src, unsigned int slen,
goto err;
}
if (dlen < h) {
u8 tmpbuffer[h];
err = crypto_shash_final(desc, tmpbuffer);
if (err)
goto err;
memcpy(dst, tmpbuffer, dlen);
memzero_explicit(tmpbuffer, h);
return 0;
} else {
err = crypto_shash_final(desc, dst);
if (err)
goto err;
err = crypto_shash_final(desc, dst);
if (err)
goto err;
dlen -= h;
dst += h;
counter = cpu_to_be32(be32_to_cpu(counter) + 1);
}
dlen -= h;
dst += h;
counter = cpu_to_be32(be32_to_cpu(counter) + 1);
}
return 0;
......@@ -216,14 +205,16 @@ static int keyctl_dh_compute_kdf(struct kdf_sdesc *sdesc,
{
uint8_t *outbuf = NULL;
int ret;
size_t outbuf_len = round_up(buflen,
crypto_shash_digestsize(sdesc->shash.tfm));
outbuf = kmalloc(buflen, GFP_KERNEL);
outbuf = kmalloc(outbuf_len, GFP_KERNEL);
if (!outbuf) {
ret = -ENOMEM;
goto err;
}
ret = kdf_ctr(sdesc, kbuf, kbuflen, outbuf, buflen, lzero);
ret = kdf_ctr(sdesc, kbuf, kbuflen, outbuf, outbuf_len, lzero);
if (ret)
goto err;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment