1. 16 Oct, 2018 1 commit
  2. 16 Oct, 2017 1 commit
  3. 07 Aug, 2017 1 commit
  4. 02 Mar, 2017 1 commit
  5. 21 Sep, 2016 1 commit
  6. 11 May, 2016 1 commit
  7. 02 May, 2016 1 commit
  8. 28 Apr, 2016 1 commit
  9. 09 Jul, 2015 1 commit
  10. 14 Jun, 2015 1 commit
  11. 11 Jun, 2015 1 commit
    • Kenneth Klette Jonassen's avatar
      tcp: add CDG congestion control · 2b0a8c9e
      Kenneth Klette Jonassen authored
      CAIA Delay-Gradient (CDG) is a TCP congestion control that modifies
      the TCP sender in order to [1]:
      
        o Use the delay gradient as a congestion signal.
        o Back off with an average probability that is independent of the RTT.
        o Coexist with flows that use loss-based congestion control, i.e.,
          flows that are unresponsive to the delay signal.
        o Tolerate packet loss unrelated to congestion. (Disabled by default.)
      
      Its FreeBSD implementation was presented for the ICCRG in July 2012;
      slides are available at http://www.ietf.org/proceedings/84/iccrg.html
      
      Running the experiment scenarios in [1] suggests that our implementation
      achieves more goodput compared with FreeBSD 10.0 senders, although it also
      causes more queueing delay for a given backoff factor.
      
      The loss tolerance heuristic is disabled by default due to safety concerns
      for its use in the Internet [2, p. 45-46].
      
      We use a variant of the Hybrid Slow start algorithm in tcp_cubic to reduce
      the probability of slow start overshoot.
      
      [1] D.A. Hayes and G. Armitage. "Revisiting TCP congestion control using
          delay gradients." In Networking 2011, pages 328-341. Springer, 2011.
      [2] K.K. Jonassen. "Implementing CAIA Delay-Gradient in Linux."
          MSc thesis. Department of Informatics, University of Oslo, 2015.
      
      Cc: Eric Dumazet <edumazet@google.com>
      Cc: Yuchung Cheng <ycheng@google.com>
      Cc: Stephen Hemminger <stephen@networkplumber.org>
      Cc: Neal Cardwell <ncardwell@google.com>
      Cc: David Hayes <davihay@ifi.uio.no>
      Cc: Andreas Petlund <apetlund@simula.no>
      Cc: Dave Taht <dave.taht@bufferbloat.net>
      Cc: Nicolas Kuhn <nicolas.kuhn@telecom-bretagne.eu>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarKenneth Klette Jonassen <kennetkl@ifi.uio.no>
      Acked-by: default avatarYuchung Cheng <ycheng@google.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarDavid S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      2b0a8c9e