• Akinobu Mita's avatar
    random32: rename random32 to prandom · 496f2f93
    Akinobu Mita authored
    This renames all random32 functions to have 'prandom_' prefix as follows:
    
      void prandom_seed(u32 seed);	/* rename from srandom32() */
      u32 prandom_u32(void);		/* rename from random32() */
      void prandom_seed_state(struct rnd_state *state, u64 seed);
      				/* rename from prandom32_seed() */
      u32 prandom_u32_state(struct rnd_state *state);
      				/* rename from prandom32() */
    
    The purpose of this renaming is to prevent some kernel developers from
    assuming that prandom32() and random32() might imply that only
    prandom32() was the one using a pseudo-random number generator by
    prandom32's "p", and the result may be a very embarassing security
    exposure.  This concern was expressed by Theodore Ts'o.
    
    And furthermore, I'm going to introduce new functions for getting the
    requested number of pseudo-random bytes.  If I continue to use both
    prandom32 and random32 prefixes for these functions, the confusion
    is getting worse.
    
    As a result of this renaming, "prandom_" is the common prefix for
    pseudo-random number library.
    
    Currently, srandom32() and random32() are preserved because it is
    difficult to rename too many users at once.
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarAkinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
    Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@mit.edu>
    Cc: Robert Love <robert.w.love@intel.com>
    Cc: Michel Lespinasse <walken@google.com>
    Cc: Valdis Kletnieks <valdis.kletnieks@vt.edu>
    Cc: David Laight <david.laight@aculab.com>
    Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
    Cc: Artem Bityutskiy <dedekind1@gmail.com>
    Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
    Cc: Eilon Greenstein <eilong@broadcom.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    496f2f93
interval_tree_test_main.c 2.31 KB