• Stephen Boyd's avatar
    Kconfig: consolidate CONFIG_DEBUG_STRICT_USER_COPY_CHECKS · 446f24d1
    Stephen Boyd authored
    The help text for this config is duplicated across the x86, parisc, and
    s390 Kconfig.debug files.  Arnd Bergman noted that the help text was
    slightly misleading and should be fixed to state that enabling this
    option isn't a problem when using pre 4.4 gcc.
    
    To simplify the rewording, consolidate the text into lib/Kconfig.debug
    and modify it there to be more explicit about when you should say N to
    this config.
    
    Also, make the text a bit more generic by stating that this option
    enables compile time checks so we can cover architectures which emit
    warnings vs.  ones which emit errors.  The details of how an
    architecture decided to implement the checks isn't as important as the
    concept of compile time checking of copy_from_user() calls.
    
    While we're doing this, remove all the copy_from_user_overflow() code
    that's duplicated many times and place it into lib/ so that any
    architecture supporting this option can get the function for free.
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarStephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
    Acked-by: 's avatarArnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
    Acked-by: 's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    Acked-by: 's avatarH. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@linux.intel.com>
    Acked-by: 's avatarHelge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
    Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    446f24d1
usercopy.c 197 Bytes