1. 03 Jul, 2006 1 commit
    • Christoph Lameter's avatar
      [PATCH] ZVC/zone_reclaim: Leave 1% of unmapped pagecache pages for file I/O · 9614634f
      Christoph Lameter authored
      It turns out that it is advantageous to leave a small portion of unmapped file
      backed pages if all of a zone's pages (or almost all pages) are allocated and
      so the page allocator has to go off-node.
      
      This allows recently used file I/O buffers to stay on the node and
      reduces the times that zone reclaim is invoked if file I/O occurs
      when we run out of memory in a zone.
      
      The problem is that zone reclaim runs too frequently when the page cache is
      used for file I/O (read write and therefore unmapped pages!) alone and we have
      almost all pages of the zone allocated.  Zone reclaim may remove 32 unmapped
      pages.  File I/O will use these pages for the next read/write requests and the
      unmapped pages increase.  After the zone has filled up again zone reclaim will
      remove it again after only 32 pages.  This cycle is too inefficient and there
      are potentially too many zone reclaim cycles.
      
      With the 1% boundary we may still remove all unmapped pages for file I/O in
      zone reclaim pass.  However.  it will take a large number of read and writes
      to get back to 1% again where we trigger zone reclaim again.
      
      The zone reclaim 2.6.16/17 does not show this behavior because we have a 30
      second timeout.
      
      [akpm@osdl.org: rename the /proc file and the variable]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      9614634f
  2. 02 Jul, 2006 2 commits
    • Thomas Gleixner's avatar
      [PATCH] irq-flags: documentation: Use the new IRQF_ constants · 6ce6c7fa
      Thomas Gleixner authored
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: "Randy.Dunlap" <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      6ce6c7fa
    • Thomas Gleixner's avatar
      [PATCH] irq-flags: consolidate flags for request_irq · 6e213616
      Thomas Gleixner authored
      The recent interrupt rework introduced bit value conflicts with sparc.
      Instead of introducing new architecture flags mess, move the interrupt SA_
      flags out of the signal namespace and replace them by interrupt related flags.
      
      This allows to remove the obsolete SA_INTERRUPT flag and clean up the bit
      field values.
      
      This patch:
      
      Move the interrupt related SA_ flags out of linux/signal.h and rename them to
      IRQF_ .  This moves the interrupt related flags out of the signal namespace
      and allows to remove the architecture dependencies.
      
      SA_INTERRUPT is not needed by userspace and glibc so it can be removed safely.
      
      The existing SA_ constants are kept for easy transition and will be
      removed after a 6 month grace period.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: "Randy.Dunlap" <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
      Cc: Jaroslav Kysela <perex@suse.cz>
      Cc: Takashi Iwai <tiwai@suse.de>
      Cc: "Antonino A. Daplas" <adaplas@pol.net>
      Cc: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Jeff Garzik <jeff@garzik.org>
      Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@infradead.org>
      Cc: Karsten Keil <kkeil@suse.de>
      Cc: Jody McIntyre <scjody@modernduck.com>
      Cc: Ben Collins <bcollins@debian.org>
      Cc: Stefan Richter <stefanr@s5r6.in-berlin.de>
      Cc: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
      Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <B.Zolnierkiewicz@elka.pw.edu.pl>
      Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@linux.ie>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@suse.de>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>
      Cc: Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Paolo 'Blaisorblade' Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Kazumoto Kojima <kkojima@rr.iij4u.or.jp>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>                                 Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
      6e213616
  3. 30 Jun, 2006 10 commits
  4. 29 Jun, 2006 7 commits
  5. 28 Jun, 2006 9 commits
  6. 27 Jun, 2006 1 commit
  7. 26 Jun, 2006 10 commits