1. 30 Apr, 2013 1 commit
  2. 13 Mar, 2013 1 commit
    • Frederic Weisbecker's avatar
      math64: New div64_u64_rem helper · f7926850
      Frederic Weisbecker authored
      Provide an extended version of div64_u64() that
      also returns the remainder of the division.
      
      We are going to need this to refine the cputime
      scaling code.
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarFrederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
      Cc: Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@redhat.com>
      Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      f7926850
  3. 28 Jun, 2012 1 commit
  4. 07 Mar, 2012 1 commit
  5. 26 Oct, 2010 1 commit
  6. 12 Jun, 2008 2 commits
    • Jeremy Fitzhardinge's avatar
      add an inlined version of iter_div_u64_rem · d5e181f7
      Jeremy Fitzhardinge authored
      iter_div_u64_rem is used in the x86-64 vdso, which cannot call other
      kernel code.  For this case, provide the always_inlined version,
      __iter_div_u64_rem.
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarJeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      d5e181f7
    • Jeremy Fitzhardinge's avatar
      common implementation of iterative div/mod · f595ec96
      Jeremy Fitzhardinge authored
      We have a few instances of the open-coded iterative div/mod loop, used
      when we don't expcet the dividend to be much bigger than the divisor.
      Unfortunately modern gcc's have the tendency to strength "reduce" this
      into a full mod operation, which isn't necessarily any faster, and
      even if it were, doesn't exist if gcc implements it in libgcc.
      
      The workaround is to put a dummy asm statement in the loop to prevent
      gcc from performing the transformation.
      
      This patch creates a single implementation of this loop, and uses it
      to replace the open-coded versions I know about.
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarJeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>
      Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Cc: john stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Segher Boessenkool <segher@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Christian Kujau <lists@nerdbynature.de>
      Cc: Robert Hancock <hancockr@shaw.ca>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      f595ec96
  7. 01 May, 2008 2 commits
    • Roman Zippel's avatar
      rename div64_64 to div64_u64 · 6f6d6a1a
      Roman Zippel authored
      Rename div64_64 to div64_u64 to make it consistent with the other divide
      functions, so it clearly includes the type of the divide.  Move its definition
      to math64.h as currently no architecture overrides the generic implementation.
       They can still override it of course, but the duplicated declarations are
      avoided.
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarRoman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@qumranet.com>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Patrick McHardy <kaber@trash.net>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      6f6d6a1a
    • Roman Zippel's avatar
      introduce explicit signed/unsigned 64bit divide · 2418f4f2
      Roman Zippel authored
      The current do_div doesn't explicitly say that it's unsigned and the signed
      counterpart is missing, which is e.g.  needed when dealing with time values.
      
      This introduces 64bit signed/unsigned divide functions which also attempts to
      cleanup the somewhat awkward calling API, which often requires the use of
      temporary variables for the dividend.  To avoid the need for temporary
      variables everywhere for the remainder, each divide variant also provides a
      version which doesn't return the remainder.
      
      Each architecture can now provide optimized versions of these function,
      otherwise generic fallback implementations will be used.
      
      As an example I provided an alternative for the current x86 divide, which
      avoids the asm casts and using an union allows gcc to generate better code.
      It also avoids the upper divde in a few more cases, where the result is known
      (i.e.  upper quotient is zero).
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarRoman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: john stultz <johnstul@us.ibm.com>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      2418f4f2
  8. 26 Apr, 2007 3 commits
  9. 16 Apr, 2005 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Linux-2.6.12-rc2 · 1da177e4
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Initial git repository build. I'm not bothering with the full history,
      even though we have it. We can create a separate "historical" git
      archive of that later if we want to, and in the meantime it's about
      3.2GB when imported into git - space that would just make the early
      git days unnecessarily complicated, when we don't have a lot of good
      infrastructure for it.
      
      Let it rip!
      1da177e4