1. 29 Apr, 2013 1 commit
  2. 25 May, 2011 1 commit
    • David Rientjes's avatar
      arch, mm: filter disallowed nodes from arch specific show_mem functions · 7bf02ea2
      David Rientjes authored
      Architectures that implement their own show_mem() function did not pass
      the filter argument to show_free_areas() to appropriately avoid emitting
      the state of nodes that are disallowed in the current context.  This patch
      now passes the filter argument to show_free_areas() so those nodes are now
      avoided.
      
      This patch also removes the show_free_areas() wrapper around
      __show_free_areas() and converts existing callers to pass an empty filter.
      
      ia64 emits additional information for each node, so skip_free_areas_zone()
      must be made global to filter disallowed nodes and it is converted to use
      a nid argument rather than a zone for this use case.
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarDavid Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
      Cc: Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
      Cc: Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>
      Cc: Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>
      Cc: James Bottomley <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      7bf02ea2
  3. 25 Mar, 2011 1 commit
  4. 23 Mar, 2011 1 commit
    • David Rientjes's avatar
      oom: suppress nodes that are not allowed from meminfo on oom kill · ddd588b5
      David Rientjes authored
      The oom killer is extremely verbose for machines with a large number of
      cpus and/or nodes.  This verbosity can often be harmful if it causes other
      important messages to be scrolled from the kernel log and incurs a
      signicant time delay, specifically for kernels with CONFIG_NODES_SHIFT >
      8.
      
      This patch causes only memory information to be displayed for nodes that
      are allowed by current's cpuset when dumping the VM state.  Information
      for all other nodes is irrelevant to the oom condition; we don't care if
      there's an abundance of memory elsewhere if we can't access it.
      
      This only affects the behavior of dumping memory information when an oom
      is triggered.  Other dumps, such as for sysrq+m, still display the
      unfiltered form when using the existing show_mem() interface.
      
      Additionally, the per-cpu pageset statistics are extremely verbose in oom
      killer output, so it is now suppressed.  This removes
      
      	nodes_weight(current->mems_allowed) * (1 + nr_cpus)
      
      lines from the oom killer output.
      
      Callers may use __show_mem(SHOW_MEM_FILTER_NODES) to filter disallowed
      nodes.
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarDavid Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
      Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
      Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
      Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      ddd588b5
  5. 06 Mar, 2010 1 commit
  6. 26 Jul, 2008 1 commit
    • Johannes Weiner's avatar
      lib: generic show_mem() · 454c63b0
      Johannes Weiner authored
      This implements a platform-independent version of show_mem().
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarJohannes Weiner <hannes@saeurebad.de>
      Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>
      Cc: Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>
      Cc: Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>
      Cc: Bryan Wu <cooloney@kernel.org>
      Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
      Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
      Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>
      Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
      Cc: Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>
      Cc: Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      454c63b0