• Ohad Ben-Cohen's avatar
    remoteproc: remove the get_by_name/put API · 40e575b1
    Ohad Ben-Cohen authored
    Remove rproc_get_by_name() and rproc_put(), and the associated
    remoteproc infrastructure that supports it (i.e. klist and friends),
    because:
    
    1. No one uses them
    2. Using them is highly discouraged, and any potential user
       will be deeply scrutinized and encouraged to move.
    
    If a user, that absolutely can't live with the direct boot/shutdown
    model, does show up one day, then bringing this functionality back
    is going to be trivial.
    
    At this point though, keeping this functionality around is way too
    much of a maintenance burden.
    
    Cc: Sjur Brændeland <sjur.brandeland@stericsson.com>
    Cc: Loic Pallardy <loic.pallardy@stericsson.com>
    Cc: Ludovic BARRE <ludovic.barre@stericsson.com>
    Cc: Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>
    Cc: Fernando Guzman Lugo <fernando.lugo@ti.com>
    Cc: Suman Anna <s-anna@ti.com>
    Cc: Mark Grosen <mgrosen@ti.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarStephen Boyd <sboyd@codeaurora.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarOhad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
    40e575b1
remoteproc.txt 12 KB