• Eric B Munson's avatar
    mm: mlock: add mlock flags to enable VM_LOCKONFAULT usage · b0f205c2
    Eric B Munson authored
    The previous patch introduced a flag that specified pages in a VMA should
    be placed on the unevictable LRU, but they should not be made present when
    the area is created.  This patch adds the ability to set this state via
    the new mlock system calls.
    
    We add MLOCK_ONFAULT for mlock2 and MCL_ONFAULT for mlockall.
    MLOCK_ONFAULT will set the VM_LOCKONFAULT modifier for VM_LOCKED.
    MCL_ONFAULT should be used as a modifier to the two other mlockall flags.
    When used with MCL_CURRENT, all current mappings will be marked with
    VM_LOCKED | VM_LOCKONFAULT.  When used with MCL_FUTURE, the mm->def_flags
    will be marked with VM_LOCKED | VM_LOCKONFAULT.  When used with both
    MCL_CURRENT and MCL_FUTURE, all current mappings and mm->def_flags will be
    marked with VM_LOCKED | VM_LOCKONFAULT.
    
    Prior to this patch, mlockall() will unconditionally clear the
    mm->def_flags any time it is called without MCL_FUTURE.  This behavior is
    maintained after adding MCL_ONFAULT.  If a call to mlockall(MCL_FUTURE) is
    followed by mlockall(MCL_CURRENT), the mm->def_flags will be cleared and
    new VMAs will be unlocked.  This remains true with or without MCL_ONFAULT
    in either mlockall() invocation.
    
    munlock() will unconditionally clear both vma flags.  munlockall()
    unconditionally clears for VMA flags on all VMAs and in the mm->def_flags
    field.
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarEric B Munson <emunson@akamai.com>
    Acked-by: 's avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
    Acked-by: 's avatarVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
    Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
    Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
    Cc: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
    Cc: Guenter Roeck <linux@roeck-us.net>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Michael Kerrisk <mtk.manpages@gmail.com>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Shuah Khan <shuahkh@osg.samsung.com>
    Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    b0f205c2
mlock.c 20.7 KB