• Mathieu Desnoyers's avatar
    Fix f_version type: should be u64 instead of unsigned long · 2b47c361
    Mathieu Desnoyers authored
    Fix f_version type: should be u64 instead of long
    
    There is a type inconsistency between struct inode i_version and struct file
    f_version.
    
    fs.h:
    
    struct inode
      u64                     i_version;
    
    and
    
    struct file
      unsigned long           f_version;
    
    Users do:
    
    fs/ext3/dir.c:
    
    if (filp->f_version != inode->i_version) {
    
    So why isn't f_version a u64 ? It becomes a problem if versions gets
    higher than 2^32 and we are on an architecture where longs are 32 bits.
    
    This patch changes the f_version type to u64, and updates the users accordingly.
    
    It applies to 2.6.23-rc2-mm2.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@polymtl.ca>
    Cc: Martin Bligh <mbligh@google.com>
    Cc: "Randy.Dunlap" <rdunlap@xenotime.net>
    Cc: Al Viro <viro@ftp.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: <linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org>
    Cc: Mark Fasheh <mark.fasheh@oracle.com>
    Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
    Cc: "J. Bruce Fields" <bfields@fieldses.org>
    Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    2b47c361
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
Makefile Loading commit data...
acl.c Loading commit data...
acl.h Loading commit data...
balloc.c Loading commit data...
bitmap.c Loading commit data...
dir.c Loading commit data...
ext4_jbd2.c Loading commit data...
extents.c Loading commit data...
file.c Loading commit data...
fsync.c Loading commit data...
hash.c Loading commit data...
ialloc.c Loading commit data...
inode.c Loading commit data...
ioctl.c Loading commit data...
namei.c Loading commit data...
namei.h Loading commit data...
resize.c Loading commit data...
super.c Loading commit data...
symlink.c Loading commit data...
xattr.c Loading commit data...
xattr.h Loading commit data...
xattr_security.c Loading commit data...
xattr_trusted.c Loading commit data...
xattr_user.c Loading commit data...