• Luis R. Rodriguez's avatar
    x86/mm/mtrr: Remove kernel internal MTRR interfaces: unexport mtrr_add() and mtrr_del() · 2baa891e
    Luis R. Rodriguez authored
    The effort to replace mtrr_add() with architecture agnostic
    arch_phys_wc_add() is complete, this will ensure write-combining
    implementations (PAT on x86) is taken advantage instead of using
    MTRR. With the effort done now, hide direct MTRR access for
    drivers.
    
    The legacy user-space /proc/mtrr ABI is not affected.
    
    Update x86 documentation on MTRR to reflect the completion of
    the phasing out of direct access to MTRR, also add a note on
    platform firmware code use of MTRRs based on the obituary
    discussion of MTRRs on Linux [0].
    
      [0] http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1438991330.3109.196.camel@hp.comSigned-off-by: default avatarLuis R. Rodriguez <mcgrof@suse.com>
    Cc: <syrjala@sci.fi>
    Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
    Cc: Andy Walls <awalls@md.metrocast.net>
    Cc: Antonino Daplas <adaplas@gmail.com>
    Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
    Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
    Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
    Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dbueso@suse.de>
    Cc: Doug Ledford <dledford@redhat.com>
    Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
    Cc: Jean-Christophe Plagniol-Villard <plagnioj@jcrosoft.com>
    Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
    Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Suresh Siddha <sbsiddha@gmail.com>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Tomi Valkeinen <tomi.valkeinen@ti.com>
    Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hp.com>
    Cc: Ville Syrjälä <syrjala@sci.fi>
    Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
    Cc: airlied@linux.ie
    Cc: benh@kernel.crashing.org
    Cc: bhelgaas@google.com
    Cc: dan.j.williams@intel.com
    Cc: konrad.wilk@oracle.com
    Cc: linux-fbdev@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: linux-media@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: mst@redhat.com
    Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
    Cc: vinod.koul@intel.com
    Cc: xen-devel@lists.xensource.com
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1440443613-13696-12-git-send-email-mcgrof@do-not-panic.comSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
    2baa891e
Name
Last commit
Last update
..
i386 Loading commit data...
x86_64 Loading commit data...
00-INDEX Loading commit data...
boot.txt Loading commit data...
early-microcode.txt Loading commit data...
earlyprintk.txt Loading commit data...
entry_64.txt Loading commit data...
exception-tables.txt Loading commit data...
intel_mpx.txt Loading commit data...
kernel-stacks Loading commit data...
mtrr.txt Loading commit data...
pat.txt Loading commit data...
tlb.txt Loading commit data...
usb-legacy-support.txt Loading commit data...
zero-page.txt Loading commit data...